Energy Executive Committee

The Energy Executive Committee (EEC) is a key sub-committee of the Chiefs Executive Council (CEC), chaired by a Chief of the CEC. It serves as the entity for engaging with the energy sector to pursue related economic, cultural and environmental opportunities and actions on the Territory. The EEC meets on a regular basis to discuss the status of the relationship with BC Hydro, assess current projects, and determine the overall goals and priorities upon which to guide the process. They monitor the important technical work done by the Project Review Committees (PRCs) and review the data necessary for the CEC to make decisions on BC Hydro’s major projects on the territory. The EEC continues to ensure that the relationship that BC Hydro enjoys with the Okanagan Nation continues to evolve and improve. Further, the EEC guides the Enduring Relationship and all BC Hydro activity and projects within Okanagan Territory. Looking at the big picture that includes the past, present, and future is critical in ensuring the Okanagan Nation’s needs are met.

Committee as of Jan 2023:

y̓ilmixʷm Robert Louie – Westbank First Nation, EEC Chairman
Okanagan Indian Band
Upper Nicola Indian Band

Project Review Committee Project Leads:

Evelyn Lube – PRC Lead, Westbank First Nation: West Kelowna Transmission Project, Westbank Substation Upgrade.
Fabian Alexis – PRC Lead, Okanagan Indian Band: Wilsey Dam Fish Passage, Walter Hardman WUP-OR, Columbia Restoration Programs.

Committee Support:

Jay Johnson – ONA Negotiator
Dina Matterson – BC Hydro Relationship Lead, Okanagan Nation Alliance (Syilx), Indigenous Relations
David DeRosa—ONA Committee Support

For more information about the EEC contact: